On the evening of Sunday, 28th May, members of Royal Wootton Bassett Rugby Club gathered in the bustling clubhouse for the highly anticipated annual Senior Player Awards Dinner.

The event was filled with camaraderie and excitement as players, coaches, families, and supporters united to celebrate the achievements of the past season. However, the introduction to the awards presentation was disrupted by an unexpected phone call during Dave Floyd's opening speech:

Senior Awards

With awards bestowed upon outstanding individuals across all four senior teams, the evening was a testament to the club's commitment to excellence both on and off the field.


Fourth XV: 

Kicked off by George Loughlin, the awards presentation began with the recognition of our Fourth XV players. 

4th XV Most Improved Player - James Evans

4th XV Coaches' Player of the Year - Ben Bryant

4th XV Player of the Year - Tom Shearing



Third XV:

Taking the microphone next was Ged Burgwyn, who proudly acknowledged the achievements of the Third XV players. 

3rd XV Most Improved Player - Stu Doughty

3rd XV Coaches' Player of the Year - Chris Hince

3rd XV Player of the Year - Liam Dewsbury



Second XV:

With enthusiasm in the air, Chris Sugden stepped forward to present the awards for the Second XV team. 

2nd XV Most Improved Player - Robert Hart

2nd XV Coaches' Player of the Year - Adam Rumble

2nd XV Players of the Year - Sean Marsden & John Jewel



First XV:

The climax of the evening arrived as George Loughlin returned to the stage to announce awards for the First XV team. 

The prestigious John Forbes-Keith Young Player of the Year award was presented by Brian Smith to Michael Clifton, a rising star whose talent and potential shone brightly throughout the season. 

The John Forbes-Keith Young Player of the Year - Michael Clifton

1st XV Most Improved Player - Rhys Floyd

1st XV Coaches' Player of the Year - Josh McCafferty


Next to be presented, and for the first time, a new award voted for by the supporters of the club was presented to Club Captain Gavin Ougan, no doubt recognizing his unwavering leadership and commitment to the club. 

RWBRFC Supporters' Player of the Year - Gavin Ougan


Finally, the highly coveted Bob Fry 1st XV Player of the Year award was presented to the exceptional Scott Parry, who epitomized skill and dedication throughout the season.

The Bob Fry 1st XV Player of the Year - Scott Parry


As the evening came to a close, the club stood united, filled with pride for their exceptional players and eagerly anticipating further triumphs to come next season.

news articles

  • Cheers to the Beers!

    Tue 26 Sep 2023 21:18

      Ale and beer drinkers will be happy with the selection of beverages available at the Royal Wootton Bassett Beer Fest on Saturday 7th October...   … view

  • RWBRFC Beer Fest 2023

    Tue 26 Sep 2023 20:40

    Get ready for a day of fun as we mark 10 years of rugby at Ballards Ash Sports Ground with the return of the Royal Wootton Bassett Beer Fest! Join us on Saturday, October … view

  • Wildman Construction sponsorship

    Tue 26 Sep 2023 20:39

    We'd like to thank Jeremy Taylor, our sponsor from WILDMAN (CONSTRUCTION) LIMITED for joining our senior players to launch this season's playing kit. The Wildman Construction logo … view

  • Minis & Juniors Players of the Week | 17th Sept 2023

    Sun 24 Sep 2023 17:56

    ☔ What a difference in the weather! But it proves how much our Minis & Juniors teams love to play, even in the wettest of conditions! ⛈️ 💦 Here are some of our highlights from Week … view